A History of Postcolonial Lusophone Africa

May 2002 9781850655947 320pp
May 2002 9781850655893 320pp
Temporarily out of stock


A comprehensive history of the five African Lusophone countries – Angola, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Cape Verde and Sao Tome e Principe – since they became independent from Portugal in 1974-5. It approaches the subject in two complementary ways. The first part consists of a series of chapters which analyse what these countries have in common and how they compare to the rest of Africa. The second part is a systematic account of what has occurred since Independence in each of the five countries individually. Both parts of the book link the precolonial and colonial past with postcolonial events, and this differs from many accounts, where the emphasis is primarily on current events. The aim is to avoid a narrow Lusophone emphasis. The first part is organised around themes relevant to all postcolonial African states, and the analysis is strongly comparative.


Patrick Chabal was for many years a Professor at King’s College London, latterly as Chair of African History and Politics. He wrote many key works including Amilcar Cabral: Revolutionary Leadership and People’s WarAfrica Works (with Jean-Pascal Daloz) and Africa: The Politics of Suffering and Smiling. He died in January 2014.

Request an academic inspection copy Request a press review copy
Inspection Copy Request
Review Copy Request
Join our mailing list

Subscribers receive exclusive discounts and early access to new books from Hurst.